DIY – Matchbox Advent Calendar

November just sneaked  in, so y’all are getting nervous, cause the hell, your sweethearts and kids all want advent calendars and it’s only one month left to get one. Do not despair, I am here to help. Actually, I am just about to throw the DIY advent calendar I made for my boyfriend last year in your face, in case you might wanna get inspired by it (which is of course totally what I hope for).

Step 1: Get inspired. I got my inspiration from the decoration-blog-sphere in the form of the picture below. I’d love to credit the source, but this pic has been slumbering on my harddrive forever and I can’t remember where I got it from. But my guess would be Decor8. To help you with step 1 this post right here exists.

Step 2: Assemble as many matchboxes as possible, preferably 24.

Getting matchboxes of different shapes can be fun. As can be the hunt. Take boxes from every bar you’re at, they usually give out free ones.

Step 3: Empty the matches in some other container – you’ll be set with matches for the coming years. They come in handy once you want to light all those christmas candles.

Step 4: Puzzle together the matchboxes in a tree-shape (we might also just call it triangle) and glue together each “floor” aka the horizontally in line ones first.

Step 5: Ok, admittdly my taking-pictures-of-steps-in-between skills are pretty shitty, cause after glueing together the “floors” wrap green fabric (or paper) around each “floor” and once done with that, glue all the “floors” together in previously laid out tree-shape.

Step 6: Decorate your matchbox tree. In my case I glued some buttons and button-like thingies on it, cause I got a huge jar of all sorts of buttons standing around and they make for pretty tree-decoration.
Decoration also includes putting numbers on each box. You can stamp them on, or handwrite or do whatever you like (press in Braille maybe?).
Step 7: Fill your matchbox advent calendar tree with all the wonders of the earth. Or candy. Which are of course not mutually exclusive concepts.

Step 8: Be extremely proud of youself. Well done!

Leave a Reply

