Going to church: St. Bonifatiuskirche Heidelberg

Yup folks, it is that time again: We go to church. You may just enjoy the view, just be interested in the architectural features or you might wanna sit down and pray, anyhow, you are very welcome. No need to convert though, I am not a Christian, nor am I religious, but I sure like them churches, so let’s take a peek.

For a long time the previously featured Jesuitenkirche (Jesuit Church) had been the only Catholic church in all of Heidelberg. But around the end of the 19th century the western part of the city as we know it today came to be built and from the beginning they had plans to erect both a Catholic and a Protestant church. The St. Bonifatius was thus built from 1899 to 1903 after Ludwig Maier’s plans and is of neo-Romanesque style, signified by the double-towers. The church was renovated in 1976 (interior) and then again from 2005 to 2009 (this time the exterior). You’ll find it in the (quite long, so google the exact position) Kaiserstraße in Heidelberg.

The interior of the church is quite beautiful and very unlike what many of us Germans are used to, due to seeing a lot of Baroque, neo-Baroque or Rococo interiors. There is a large wooden ceiling with paintings on it. Those look pretty medieval to my unqualified eye, so that came as a surprise, especially since the whole interior of the church is somewhat dark and gloomy while it looks so shiny and bright from the outside. That made for a nice contrast in atmosphere.

When I entered the church and took all the photos, there was actually just one other person there. This woman was obviously in prayer, sitting on one of the benches. Do I have to spell it out? I felt like the most offensive intruder ever, coming in all touristy and stuff, taking random pictures while she might be sitting there contemplating life and destiny and all the like. I toyed with the idea of just asking her if it’s ok for me to take pictures while she is there, until I finally came to the conclusion that I was too afraid to ask. However, the two times I passed her, we looked each other in the eye, smiled and nodded a friendly hello. So I totally felt accepted. And actually really happy. That was the nicest smile I had gotten that day, and the intimacy of the whole situation added a lot of emotional weight to it. So, dear woman in the St. Bonifatiuskirche in Heidelberg: thank you, and: you’re awesome!

If you happen to be in Heidelberg, take a walk out to the western part of the city and have a look at the St. Bonifatiuskirche, it is totally worth it!

4 thoughts on “Going to church: St. Bonifatiuskirche Heidelberg

  1. Great.

    Thank You presenting churches inside / outside. Churches are very seldom presented. This church is very beautiful.

    In my country our churches differ from this, espcially those made from wood.

    Happy Wednesday!

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment!
      I started this posting about churches thing wondering if anybody, besides me, would actually be interested in something like that. So it’s a great encouragement to hear such kind words!

      But now, after having seen your wonderful blog, I feel all terrible about posting crappy pictures. Haha, I am nowhere near the kind of photographer that you are, so: sorries. 🙂
      But seriously now, the landscape around where you live is just breathtaking! Beautiful, and you are very good at capturing that beauty. Keep going!

      1. Thank You Sir.

        I am pure amateur. After photographing about 380 churches around in my country, I can that to photograph churches is not at all easy task. Some churches are too big to take good outside photos. Inside there is missing light.

        I have to use ISO 3200 setting with flash to get reasonable photos inside. I do not have a tripod, but when taking photos I am not breathing. Sometimes I use walls or other things to hold my camera steady.

        I encourage You heavily to continue in this task.

        Tomorrow, that is Friday morning here, I start a set of photos presenting four churches once a week one church which differs each very much.

        First will be 100 angles’ wooden church.

        I wish to You Happy blogging and cool shots.

Leave a Reply

