Umbrella – ella

taken from an online shop, copyright presumably by the shop's owner. If you click the image, you get to the offer.

Today I was out a lot. And deliberately left my umbrella at home thinking: “It’s not gonna rain, and even if, it’s not going to be so bad.”
Well, it rained, and it wasn’t so bad, but I was mad at myself nevertheless. Since I have a perfectly fine umbrella. I got it as a gift from my father, lost it recently, but then found it again, since it was still where I forgot it.

The whole thing made me think about this awesome umbrella that touched my japanophile heart:

Find the shop by clicking on the image. via http://happymundane.com/

Fantastic, right? So I decided to look around and get an idea of how much more awesome umbrellas can be, if designers invest some practical, functional or utterly ridiculous thinking in their creative process.

more info on it if you click the image

Designed by Hironao Tsuboi. More info on it if you click the image
more info on it if you click the image
more info on it if you click the image

So there’s the bamboo version, the stand-by-itself version, the aerodynamic withstand-every-storm-version and the version for happy couples. Cute.

more info on it if you click the image. via neonbible.net
more info on it if you click the image

Then there is also the non-traditional variation, that toys with all our assumptions about umbrellas, and the one that makes you either feel like more of a man or like some punch-in-your-face-hooligan umbrella holder.

I’m still happy with mine. Even more so when I carry it with me.

There is even more umbrella craziness, you can check it out over here.

Leave a Reply

